Back in Time

14 Nov

This week has been a little like going back in time. My leg is swollen and being in short, a bit of a shit.

That’s a technical term. Pain is easy to describe, but the niggles, aches and general aura that accompanies an ATR are, I find, more difficult, so I like to think of my leg as an extremely tempremental person. It’s ‘grumpy’, ‘unhappy’, ‘pissed off’, ‘tired and grouchey’, ‘so so’, ‘a bit of a shit’ and so on. Numerous states to describe something quite undescribeable.

I find it easier this way.

Anyway, I think the leg presses I did at the gym last week set it off. It was mildly unhappy over the weekend, but then that’s how it usually feels post workout. It wasn’t until I went to physio and he commented on the swelling and then massaged (also known as manhandling) it that it began to feel worse. If I had continued in blissful ignorance then all would still be in the state of ‘unhappy’ to ‘so so’ but when someone points at the problem its difficult to ignore.

A reduced light workout is on the cards for the next couple of weeks. I’ve worked the leg back from being pissed off before, I can do it again. We looked at ankle boots today at lunch, it seemed to help, slightly.

On the bright side I got to see an ultrasound of my leg on Monday, or ‘the massive gaping hole where my Achilles tendon used to be’. It basically looked like white noise.

2 Responses to “Back in Time”

  1. m November 20, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    When I first read your blog update, I didn’t reply as my achilles was being Peter Perfect and I didn’t want to upset you anymore than you already are. However, after day 2 of week 1 Couch to 5k, my achilles is also being grouchy, slighly swollen and a little pissed off. Unfortunately I’ve been limping too, but because of my rt groin strain, not my complaining tendon. I’m going to return to basic leg raises for a aday or two. Keep at it, we’ll get over it.

    • JoyA November 21, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      Sorry to hear your leg is playing up too. Hope it calms down soon.

      I think its just my leg’s way of making sure I know it still rules the roost (for the time being!). I’ve had a little limp too and the stiffness has returned. But will take it easy and rest it, raise it and give it some tlc and it will be back on track.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

