S Day

2 Feb

Post Surgery CastUp at 5.30am and shuffling into St John & St Elizabeth hospital for 7am.

I’m gowned up and meeting various medical people by 7.30am. Leg is clearly marked up and I’m wheeled off. The staff are excellent, calm, caring and very nice. In the pre-op room everyone is very chatty until the anaesthetist tells me about the injections I’ll need to give myself after the op. For DVT. For two weeks. I have lots of plans for my life, injecting myself isn’t one of them. I can see her look of ‘oh jeez’ as I explain this and then my guardian angel turns up….my surgeon and he suggests some tablets because of certain studies and its agreed. No injections. If I have one small victory during all of this then this is it.

I wake up a couple of hours later feeling no pain. The surgeon comes in and tells me something, not sure what. And then I am off back to my room.

It was thought I would have a special aircast but actually I’m in plaster. The rupture was worse than thought so for two weeks I am in a cast.

I’m pain free with a very sore throat and a strong desire for a cup of tea. The nurses were great and came in with a cuppa quick smart. I spent a few hours in my room, watching random tv (Saturday Kitchen is better on drugs), the physio popped in to show me the ins and outs of crutches (steps now terrify me) and I was off home.

Leave a Reply

