Focussing the mind

12 Mar

Mad as this sounds, there are lots of bright sides to a ruptured Achilles. Stronger upper arms and leg. Lots of daytime tv. You get to work on your crutch jokes etc etc But the main thing is it doesn’t matter what your woes were before the pop, you will instantly forget about them, post pop.

  • Rubbish love life? You won’t even remember who the loser was.
  • Stressed and struggling at work? Move that to the back burner.
  • Worried you have nothing to wear and need a wardrobe revamp? Your wardrobe will mainly consist of leisure wear and when you do go out you’ll now style everything to go with your new accessories: crutches, cast and aircast. Doesn’t matter if its Spring/Summer or Autumn/Winter.
  • Finances giving you a headache? You won’t be going anywhere to spend money, so enjoy all the free daytime tv you can.

Obviously some of the above are more important that others.

Everything and everyone that was stressing me out and making me anxious stopped on 29th January at about 8.30pm. It went away to a back burner so far away its in another time zone and my focus turned 100% to me and working out what was wrong, then what needed to get done to get better, then day by day how I can get better, now taking my first steps without crutches and the list goes on.

I’m not one to talk or write about being blessed and stuff like that all the time. But I do think that my Achilles was a good thing. Yes it has been painful and confusing and I’ve struggled. I do advise everyone not to rush out and ruptures theirs. But when I think about the last couple of months and my rupture, when it happened I immediately stopped sweating the small and inconsequential stuff and people and automatically my focus switched to me and what’s going to make me happy. Sometimes its takes a pop as loud as a gunshot to do that.

‘What seems to us as bitter trials are often blessings in disguise’
– Oscar Wilde.

I couldn’t have said it better.

2 Responses to “Focussing the mind”

  1. Kelly March 15, 2013 at 6:08 am #

    Love this! So proud of you. Really enjoying your updates and sending so much healing love. You make recovery look gooooooood. Xo.

    • JoyA March 15, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

      Thanks Kelly! There’s a lot I make look bad, so this is lovely to hear! xx

Leave a Reply

