Six weeks post op

16 Mar

For the first time in my life I am continuing to receive good reports. Yesterday was my six week post op review appointment. There’s lots going on…

I’m now down to one wedge
I don’t need to see the Dr again for another 4-6 weeks
Physio starts Monday
I’ve been given the okay for delicate range of movement in the foot
I’m still on two crutches until the physio says otherwise. Did try one step but even writing this makes me feel nauseous again
The boot will continue to be part of my wardrobe for another 4 weeks or so

I’m really happy. My Dr is really happy. We’re all really happy. I hope you reader are happy.

Its raining here which is trying to scupper all my hard work – wet surfaces and crutches make for slips, skids and sore legs. If this was a Hollywood movie my post Dr visit slip would have ended with me flat on my face and a tense hospital visit to see if I had undone all my hard work. It was in fact a mini slip which whilst shocking was a good reminder that I am not a crutch wielding superhero and should be careful.

My reward is to go shopping. I’ve been on a shopping diet lately, so I am so excited I feel like a 7 year old off to a birthday party. I know all I will want to buy is shoes, however I am focussing my mind (see previous post for this in action) on items which are not dependent on me, a) queuing for a changing room or b) needing to remove the boot to try on.

3 Responses to “Six weeks post op”

  1. Georgie March 17, 2013 at 7:34 am #

    Congratulations on the good news. I’m impressed you haven’t succumbed to online shopping. I’m now addicted and ordering things I know I will never wear.

    I’m 3 wks post op, after a dance floor misadventure, and have been told a lot of different things by different doctors re my recovery time. I’m hoping to get some clarity this wk.

    • JoyA March 17, 2013 at 9:25 am #

      I’ve had my online shopping moments and I am sure I will succumb in the coming weeks!

      I have based my recovery on the average of everything I have read and documented what I’ve been told by my Dr at each visit. So far I have seen him every two weeks so I store up my questions for each consultation.

      Are you still in a cast or moved into a boot?

      • Georgie March 17, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

        I’m in Australia so the UK sites such as ASOS/TopShop and Miss Selfridge etc offer such good value it is too hard to pass up! Can you recommend any other UK brands?

        I went back to the hospital last week, got the stitches removed, and was told by the doctor that I would go into a boot but have 6 wks with no weight. I then went to meet the hospital physio who tried to put my foot into a boot with 3 wedges and said I could throw the crutches away soon.. My heel wouldn’t even go down to touch the top of 4 wedges and I was in a lot of pain so they put me back into a cast.

        I have another appointment on Wednesday and I’m hoping to be more switched on and get some clear answers and instructions and also a boot. At least then I won’t be overbalancing all over the place and might be able to go back to work.

Leave a Reply

