A new chapter

20 Mar

I started physio on Monday. After not having much movement (forced or otherwise) in my foot, the thought of moving it on demand was quite daunting.

Also over the last six weeks I have developed something like foot OCD. I do not like anyone touching my foot or leg, even looking at it the wrong way causes me concern. Yes I am that strange. I’ve read that a lot of people develop a dislike of their leg being touched after an Achilles rupture. Add to that that your leg doesn’t get out much (excuse the pun) and it itself start to desensitise so anything touching it does feel odd. Its a vicious circle.

So anyway back to physio. The challenge laid down by my Dr was to be full weight bearing in four weeks and at the moment that’s what we are working to. I have a range of exercises that I need to do 3-4 times a day. I can see the different within 24hrs. I’m going twice a week for the next month at least.

On top of this I have some psychological exercises:
1) Touch the scar
2) Sleep without the boot

Simple? Maybe. Well I am working on no1. and no2. I accomplished last night. After being in a cast/boot for six weeks it was bizarre having a ‘free’ leg. My boot is my security blanket, so without it it wasn’t the best night’s sleep I’ve ever had. But it felt good to be foot loose for once.

2 Responses to “A new chapter”

  1. Marsha March 20, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    Was Kevin Bacon involved?

    • JoyA March 20, 2013 at 11:53 am #

      His new fangled dancing ways are not welcome just yet. Maybe when I am back in my dancing shoes, the boot is rather cumbersome.

Leave a Reply

