Good weeks, bad weeks

9 Apr

I have mainly had good weeks throughout my injury. Some days I’ve been in pain, I get angry that I can’t get around, I feel isolated – my friends don’t live just around the corner, but it’s always been short-lived. I’ve never had really bad days. In fact I don’t think I have cried at all about my injury or recovery. Actually I nearly cried when I couldn’t get off the train last week but gave myself a stern talking to and I was fine.

This week though, is hard. My leg hurts for the first time in ages, I am looking at being off work for another 2-3 weeks and I am really struggling to get off my crutches. The latter I can’t fathom, I just can’t work out how to get off them, or even get off just one.

I’m quite logical and like to work out things in my head first, this is helpful when you are on crutches as I mentally work out my route or what I need to do first and then do it. But I cannot for the life of me work this one out and the thought of several more weeks of this is maddening. I also made a deal with my Dr that I would walk into my next appointment which is on 23rd.

I’ve Googled, You Tubed but I still can’t ‘get it’. Time is ticking.

I’m lucky, I know there aren’t many people that can face something like this and feel okay, I can’t really explain why, maybe I am dead inside. Do Bupa cover this?

4 Responses to “Good weeks, bad weeks”

  1. Marsha April 9, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

    boo to the bad week – wish i had some words of wisdom or humour for you but sadly i don’t – thinking of you though and willing you off the crutches – should i get someone to come round and steal them?

  2. JoyA April 9, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Thanks Marsha, all things must pass and all that jazz.
    I made it out of Berlin. I will make it off crutches x

    • micah April 10, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

      Not cried? you are such a trooper! Now I am relying on you to forge the way, being as you are 6 weeks ahead of me. Perhaps it will just click in a few more days. Good days are ahead.

      • JoyA April 10, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

        Thank you. I don’t take not crying as a sign of strength, more a sign of mental instability! I’ll get there I think it just take perseverance, its not a Hollywood movie!

Leave a Reply

