Train, train, train

26 Jul

Last night saw me back in training. Six months after I last broke a sweat (105degree induced Bikram sweat doesn’t count), I donned my sports gear and skipped off into the gorgeous Ealing evening.

I know that I compensate massively with my left leg doing the majority of the work, but I was surprised at how much my left arm compensated too. I have a body of two halves. Both lazy but one that makes a Marge Simpson style ‘hhmmmm’ and lets the other pick up the slack.

Ten minutes in a number of things came back to me…

  • That time is different as soon as you enter a gym. One minute lifting weights is not akin to one minute of doing other stuff
  • Its probably not wise to keep your money in your sweats pocket – its gets rather…sweaty
  • I don’t miss the ache of a weights workout

All in all it was a good session. How I think training should be…sweat, aches but still being able to breathe.

3 Responses to “Train, train, train”

  1. Micah Shaw July 27, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    A friend who had the same injury a few years ago invested in a “realignment ” massage which he swears helped with the compensation by the good side. ….might be worth a look!

    • JoyA July 27, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

      Thanks, will check this out.
      Does it mentally realign too??!

      • micah1 July 27, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

        Oh yes, guaranteed 🙂

Leave a Reply

